Britains National Parks


There are 15 National Parks in England, Scotland and Wales each of which are very different from one another and they comprise of beautiful areas of mountains, meadows, moorlands, woods and wetlands. All are areas of protected countryside that everyone can visit and most areas include Access Land where everyone has the Right to Roam. People still live, work and shape the landscape in these areas. Each Park is controlled by a local organisation which promotes the area and looks after the landscape and wildlife.

Absolutely Breathtaking Areas of Outstanding National Beauty.

The 15 Areas are (with links to their official websites)

A large amount of land within the National Parks is owned by private landowners. Farmers and organisations like the National Trust are some of the landowners, along with the thousands of people who live in the villages and towns. National Park Authorities sometimes own bits of land, but they work with all landowners in all National Parks to protect the landscape. National Parks Website.

The National Parks were designated in the following years. 1951 - Peak District, Lake District, Snowdonia and Dartmoor 1952 - Pembrokeshire Coast and North York Moors 1954 - Yorkshire Dales and Exmoor 1956 - Northumberland 1957 - Brecon Beacons 1989 - The Broads given equivalent status to a National Park 2002 - Loch Lomond & The Trossachs 2003 - Cairngorms 2005 - New Forest 2010 - South Downs. The Peak District was the first area to be designated as a National Park.

Land Area Covered by National Parks:

: 10 National Parks cover 9.3% of the land area

3 National Parks cover 19.9.% of the land area

: 2 National Parks cover 7.2% of the land area